top of page
  • Writer's pictureIzzy Astuto

Heat I

P.S. In Puerto Rico, from the moment you step outside, you become drenched in moisture, sweat congregates on your forehead and in every crease it can seep into. Pajamas fail me in this heat, fabric sticking to my legs, unshaved hairs entwining with the pant strings.


I find myself taking more showers. I find myself wishing the pool was open later in the evening. I find myself inebriated most of the time, as I stumble around wearily, unable to override the alcohol simmering beneath my skin, dripping out of my pores.


I get drunk in open-walled restaurants, listening to Dolly Parton through the static buzzing in my ears. My period arrives on the fourth day, and the heat only gets worse. My cramps feel particularly oppressive, and I wait around anxiously for the five-minute rainfalls once every few hours, bathing in the wet, washing away the sweat and blood and lubricating my sunburned skin, and my aching bones.


On the second to last day, we walked Castillo San Cristobal in Old San Juan, and, wandering around the ruins of the old fort, I felt the dehydration set in. I ran from room to dilapidated room, sweat soaking my back and collecting under my armpits, my face flushed beet red. I climbed to the very top and stood on the edge of the turrets, looked out over the miles and miles of field and ocean and let the wind blow me cool again. I miss Puerto Rico, now that I’m gone, but I certainly don’t miss the heat.

 

Izzy Astuto

Izzy Astuto (they/he) is a writer currently majoring in Creative Writing at Emerson College, with a specific interest in screenwriting. When not in Boston for college, they live in Lancaster, Pennsylvania. His work has previously been published by Hearth and Coffin, Sage Cigarettes, and Renesme Literary, amongst others. When not writing, he can often be found watching movies and crocheting. You can find more of their work on their website, at https://izzyastuto.weebly.com/. Their Instagram is @izzyastuto2.0 and their Twitter is @adivine_tragedy.



bottom of page